Manually spanked spam
Update 01may06: See the next newest post.
Countertop got the spam first, it looks like it finally got around to me. Does that mean I’ve arrived as a blogger?
New comment on your post #90 “Outlaw Mandatory RFID ?spychips? Implantations.”
Author : DEAN BERRY — REAL AMERICAN (IP: 204.52.242.50 , mail.accor-na.com)
E-mail : DINOBERRY@FRONTIERNET.NET
URI :
Whois : http://ws.arin.net/cgi-bin/whois.pl?queryinput=204.52.242.50
Comment:
The Second Amendment means nothing outside of hunting.…
In Jesus’ Glorious and Holy name,
Dean Berry — Real Americanhttp://www.deanberryministries.org
dinoberry@frontiernet.net
standard mischief$ whois 204.52.242.50
OrgName: MOTEL 6
OrgID: MOTEL6
Address: <snip>
…

This is apparently a picture of the guy, hotlinked from his website. Unfortunately for his bandwidth, it’s only 4116 bytes.
I’m normally pretty tolerant if a thread wanders off topic, but this guy’s screed has nothing to do with employers requiring that their employees get RFID implants.
I took the extra second to login and manually spank the spam so that info gets transmitted to other spam karma2 users.
I’m guessing that this was inserted by a real person using a laptop at a hotel, (I don’t think that Motel 6 is getting into the spammy comment business), but I’m posting the IP address anyway, just to make it easier to confirm my suspicions.
If you have any similar experiences, the comments are open here, thanks to Spam Karma 2.
Update: Have you ever spent an hour under the hood of a car trying to figure out why it won’t start, only to find out later that you are simply out of gas? I was poking around and failed to check the obvious stuff. Let’s just say he did very little to conceal his location and identity. I have an address and phone number, but I’m not going to post it because I don’t want to be a annoying a-hole too. Plus, it might be his mommy’s.
If I was anywhere near Wells, NV however, I’d do the internets a favor and teach the Motel 6 (where he’s leaching his free wifi) how to block a MAC address. Unfortunately however, he’d just go down to the Flying J, or the local legal brothel and start spamming from there. (Free wifi at a whorehouse, who would have thunk it? I suppose it’s there for the same reason it’s at the Flying J though.)
SayUncle Says :
So, how’d you get a number/address?
2006-04-29 23:14 PermalinkStandard Mischief Says :
Well if I post it, it’s just like I put up his name and address and say “harass him!”. He’s certainly made himself plenty of enemies. It’s pretty simple though, I’ll email you.
I found his blogspot blog too, and it looks like this poor “real American” (excuse me, I mean “REAL AMERICAN”) is going to the big house for a while, and I don’t want a bunch of crank callers to harass his mom. (Yup, he lives with his mom, and she’s in first stage Alzheimer’s, I think)
Anyway the problem will solve itself in a bit, I think, at least for a while.
Yea, he’s a racist, xenophobic nutjob, but he’s trying to take care of his mom, so he gets points for that.
2006-04-30 00:39 PermalinkSailorcurt Says :
He got me too. I tracked him to his blog where I perused his ruminations for a grand total of about 15 seconds before determining that he is simply a nutjob trying to garner attention with his drive by commenting. I promptly deleted his comment and have consigned him to the list of things that are too unimportant to concern myself with.
2006-05-01 12:38 PermalinkSTANDARD MISCHIEF ? REAL AMERICAN Says :
I tracked him to his blog where I perused his ruminations for a grand total of about 15 seconds before determining that he is simply a nutjob trying to garner attention with his drive by commenting
Yea, well he caught me with just the right balance of boredom, real-work-I-should-be-doing avoidance, high fructose corn syrup, and FD&C yellow dye number 5, and I kinda went off on him.
I found his blog, three earlier blogs that were dead (with two of ‘em in Google cache), Google map to his house, Google map to where he was stealing his wifi, his account on mixposure.com, dozens of photos including his mom, his mom’s likely diagnosis, and stuff like that.
I streamed ONE of his mp3 songs (for only a few seconds). That’s about where I draw the line, it was awful!
I know I have these strange mutant powers, but I try very hard to use them for good and not evil.
After I post five or so comments elsewhere proving that I’m a “REAL AMERICAN” too, I think I’ll have him out of my system.
2006-05-01 13:42 PermalinkTyler D Says :
What was his ip. He hit me a few days ago at 204.52.242.50.
2006-05-02 03:52 PermalinkTyler D Says :
Well, if I could read. I would know his Ip. Sheesh.
2006-05-02 03:53 PermalinkStandard Mischief Says :
Thanks for the confirm, yea you got hit from the same Motel 6 IP address.
2006-05-02 10:56 Permalink-keith in silicon valley Says :
If he’s up in Nevada there, he probably listens (and calls-in) to that UFO AM-radio guy with all the black-helicopter tin-foil hat conspiracy crap. It’s about all there is to do up there, and amusing to tune-in at night when you’re driving through - which is the alternate “all-there-is-to-do” there, drive through.
2006-05-05 11:45 Permalink